Twitter-Logo-300x293Facebook_logoinstagram_logo_vector Hopkins House Blog

Stakeholders Elect New Trustees and Board Officers

June 19, 2015 11:55 AM
New Board Chair, Julie Jakopic

At their 76th annual meeting on June 18, the Hopkins House Community Stakeholders, elected new trustees and board officers.  The meeting, held at the Crowne Plaza in Old Town Alexandria and attended by some 50 stakeholders, was preceded by a video covering the storied history of Hopkins House since its founding in 1939.

A total of 11 individuals were elected to the board, bringing the total to 22 trustees.  Three trustees retired from the board.

The stakeholders also elected board officers. Gregory H. Leisch was elected Chair-Elect, Rick Belle Isle was elected Treasurer, Elizabeth Partoyan was elected Secretary, and Will Jasper was elected Assistant Treasurer.   

Julie Jakopic was automatically promoted to Board Chair in accordance with the organization’s bylaws which limit the Board Chair to two successive one year terms.  Former Board Chair Mark Eisenhour, having completed two years in office, now becomes Chair Emeritus. 

In her speech to stakeholders, Jakopic credited Eisenhour, the outgoing Board Chair, with presiding over dramatic expansion of the organization, including the opening of a third preschool academy, and enhancing the quality of its early care and education program.  The new Board Chair said that she plans to focus on continued program quality enhancement and building the organization’s financial resources.

A complete list of trustees and board officers can be seen by clicking here.

In addition to the elections, the meeting agenda included the annual "State of the Organization" report from the President and reports from the several trustee committees.